Even my boots are done…

May 19, 2010 at 9:42 pm 2 comments

I retired my awesome Oakley boots today.  They will not see American soil.

I ordered them my first few weeks in country, and now in my last week, they will be sent to the trash.  It has gotten to a point where I have to shoehorn my foot out of them at night.  What should take seconds, often takes minutes.

I loved them and they served me well.  I’m sure that for my next deployment, or even before, I will order new ones.  They are way more comfortable than the issued boots.

Falling apart from the inside out...

I will miss you, dear boots…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Done Son!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika Carol  |  May 20, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    So, it this the 1st pair of shoes you have ever retired? It seems like you have a bazillion pairs back at home…. wonder if any of them are ready to be retired!!??!! Love you and sorry about your loss (of the boots, that is!).

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  May 25, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    I understand … there must be some emotional, significant meaning to leaving your boots … however, I noticed that our neighbor Stratton was wearing his the other day while working in his garage, maybe he had a 2nd pair for home use 🙂 Love, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

