A year has passed…

May 6, 2010 at 11:06 pm 1 comment

So I’ve been on active duty orders for over a year now…

Kind of crazy to think that an entire year has gone by and for most of it I’ve been in boots and a uniform everyday.  My feet are sick of it and I really am excited to look like a girl again.  But overall, it has been a good year.  I think I’ve grown up some, yet regressed at the same time.  Some days I feel like I’ve lost IQ points, and other days I’m ready to do anything I want.  I still don’t know what that is… but I’ve got a little more time to figure that out.

I’m definitely more willing to be more adventurous and take more risks.  I’ve become “one of the guys” and sometimes speak like one too.  I’m more fit than I was a year ago.  I’m still single, but much more okay with that.  I like to think I’ve become wittier… but not sure that’s really true.  I’m sure my patience has gotten worse, not that I had much to begin with.

I’ve missed weddings, and babies, and parties.  I couldn’t go out and celebrate for friends’ new jobs.  Or hug them when they told me they were expecting.   I had to call my family via the internet on birthdays and holidays (thankfully, I got to be home for Christmas).  I missed my niece’s basketball games and school programs.  I sold my car and lost my job.

I got to meet some awesome people, and some not-so-awesome people.  I did some cool things.  I did some stupid things.  I dealt with other people doing stupid things.

So now, I’m left wondering where this next year will take me.  The previous one has taken me halfway around the world and changed my perspective on many things.  I can’t imagine what else will change. Is there anything left? 😀

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Who’s your Bagh-Daddy? Done Son!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    This past year has been an adventure of a life time. Enjoy the time you are still there and never forget the people. We are looking forward to you coming home. I know you will hit the ground running. Do not think that you lost a year or missed anything. You will catch up – some times, absence does make the true freinds relationship stronger and family just love you more. What you have gained is more than you missed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

